I dine the Swine…Do YOU?

Pork, pig, swine, hog, or any of several mammals of the family Suidae, having short legs, cloven hooves, bristly hair, and a cartilaginous snout used for digging, especially the domesticated hog, Sus scrofa domesticus, when young or of comparatively small size.  Shit, it is all good.  I wanted to get a tattoo of a pig but my wife has expressly told me that my days of getting tattoos are over (and on some occasions I am glad she has made this clear).  I LOVE the pig.

Don’t get me wrong here, I have many friends of the Jewish faith, but they all seam to eat pork so I really have no qualms about yelling my undying love for this beautiful animal at the top of my lungs.  The problem with pork is simple.  It went through that whole “the other white meat” mess that paired it with chicken.  I mean really!  I like chicken, but pork is a whole different game.  Unfortunately while trying to get people to eat more of it they bred this fine animal to be lean and tasteless.  You want the good stuff, the shit, the Diablo.  Well find a farmer who does it right and lets his, or her, animal grow up the way it should.  As that is truly one of the best things in life.  My wife teases me about my obsession with pork belly.  As far as I am concerned I am not a crack junky so this pales in comparison… right?  There is a farmer at our local farmers market, Rocky Canyon Farms that sells pork that is so flavorful and juicy, you will wonder what the hell you have been eating from the store.  While we are not all so fortunate to have this vendor on hand, your local butcher can surely give you some better cuts, or an Asian market excels on the pork front.  Here is a good link to help you through the different cuts.  But if you ask me.. go for the belly baby!

http://nymag.com/restaurants/features/70097/

 

One thought on “I dine the Swine…Do YOU?”

Leave a comment